Crosswalk at intersection of Gunston Rd and Rt 1

March 18, 2009

Dear Virginia Department of Transportation,

The issue of a pedestrian crosswalk at the intersection of Gunston Road and U.S. Route 1 in Lorton has recently been brought to my attention. U.S. Route 1 is a frequently traveled road and the lack of a proper crosswalk raises some series concerns. My constituents have informed me that VDOT does indeed share the belief that a crosswalk is needed but due to budget constraints, the money is not available.

I am requesting that VDOT make some funds available to paint a crosswalk in order to avoid a possibly tragic situation. I have attached my constituent’s letter suggesting the alternative to installing a costly pedestrian crosswalk. This would consist of white lines directing the pedestrian as well as signs along the road indicating the approach of a crosswalk. I believe this idea is a great alternative in a tough budget time.

I hope you will also support and implement this crosswalk.  Please contact me if you have any questions.

Kind regards,

David B. Albo

Leave a Reply

