Road Closures Due to Flooding

Due to the relentless weather throughout the day, people are being advised to stay off the roads to avoid flash floods. If you must drive, please use caution. Already, a number of roads in the area have been closed/expect delays.  These include, as of 8:15 pm:

  • Beltway I-495 closed at Mixing Bowl; no traffic allowed east on I-495; traffic being rerouted.
  • Beltway I-495 closed in both directions over Cameron Run due to high water. Traffic will be detoured.
  • I-66 west bound by exit 57, to route 50,  has been closed due to standing water
  • In Springfield, there have been closures at:
    • Guinea Rd/Braeburn Rd
    • Byron Ave by St. Bernadettes
    • Woodburn Rd/Spicewood
    • Hooes/ Furnace Rd
    • Burke/ Rolling Road
    • Roberts Rd/Glenmere Rd
    • Braddock Rd/Roberts Rd
    • Olley Rd/Braeburn Rd
    • Burke Lake Rd closed 7100 to 123

    More up to date alerts can be found on the Fairfax County government website. Stay dry!

One response to “Road Closures Due to Flooding

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I found this during my search for something relating to this.

Leave a Reply

