Week 4 Session Update

We’ve hit the half-way mark at the General Assembly as the fourth week of session comes to an end. A lot of headway has been made on issues that matter most to Virginians.

A key issue we continue to highlight this year is Medicaid expansion and its much needed reform. If you scroll down my blog, you will see a post on why the expansion is not in Virginia’s best interest, at this time. As I have said before, I am not opposed to expanding Medicaid, but it needs to be reformed first.

In addition to debating Medicaid, a lot of interesting people stop by my office last week. For example we had some people from the Patient Advocacy Center stop by to talk about Outpatient Treatment for mental health patients. It was great to get more information about this topic since it came up in the Mental Health Subcommittee this week. The Virginia Craft Brewery Guild stopped and gave us some interesting information in breweries in Virginia and the Richmond Justice Initiative came by to talk about anti-human trafficking laws.

We also Sabrina stop by from George Mason University to give us some interesting stats about the school like the fact that it’s the largest public institution in the Commonwealth with 33,917 enrolled students in 2013. The university’s presence also supports 11,618 private-sector employees in the region, and they contributed $1.14 billion dollars to the state in 2012.

A few constituents stopped by this week as well, including a few from SEIU who sang Happy Birthday to my legislative assistant, Cori. It was nice of them to make her feel so special on that day. In addition, Sean, a GMU student, came by my office as well with his fellow GMU classmates. I attended his Eagle Scout ceremony in 2005!!

Last but not least, I had two families come by the office this week to view their child’s artwork in my office. As you remember, I invite area elementary schools to donate artwork their students have created to be displayed in my office during session. Thank you to both the Hall family and Calhoun Family for stopping by the office!

As always, my staff and I are here in Richmond to serve you. We want to hear what you think about the legislation pending before the House, or if there’s anything we can do to help you in dealing with a state government agency. My office can be reached at (804) 698-1042 or via email at DelDAlbo@house.virginia.gov. If you are planning to visit Richmond during Session, I encourage you to visit me in General Assembly building room 529.

1496303_496637567123637_1015447348_o Isabelle Calhoun Art2 1658508_496637213790339_1566336977_o

Leave a Reply

