Automatic 0-50% for all FCPS Students (Part I)

Fairfax County Public Schools plans to give students an automatic 50% for doing nothing, rather than receiving a 0. If you think I am making this up, click on this story:

http://video.foxnews.com/v/4121287578001/should-schools-eliminate-zeroes-from-grading-policy/?#sp=show-clips

If this proposal in enacted, FCPS is will ruin what makes our schools so great. They will not give a single zero. Students will receive 50% for absolutely NOTHING.  I cannot help but think this is crazy. This sounds like an “Everyone Gets a Trophy” school system.

Everything I have in my life can be traced back to my parents or the great education I received at Rolling Valley Elementary, Washington Irving Middle School, and West Springfield High School.

Making a 50% the new floor instead of zero essentially cuts the requirements to achieve in half. This is insanity and if I can do anything to defeat this, I will!

Leave a Reply

